Travel Books Part I

One of my greatest loves in life is getting sucked into a book that is impossible to put down. I’ve composed a list of my favorite books, some of the books are specifically are about traveling and some are just because I resonated with the characters. Lets dive in!

The Good Girls Guide to Getting Lost: A Memoir of Three Countries, Two Friends, and One Unexpected Adventure by Rachel Friedman. This book is basically the Eat, Pray, Love for broke girls in their twenties. This book was  the book that had me ready to break out of my mold and just  take that leap to really travel.  Seriously my number one travel book recommendation for all girls in their twenties.

That being said I feel I need to include Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert in the list. This book initially was hard to connect with because financially Gilbert never seems to have to budget. This quickly dissolved.  Gilbert’s heartbreak, questioning her own religious beliefs, and stepping away from the status quo; that is something most travelers/ humans can relate to. Gilbert creates a story so fluid that all of a sudden its three hours later on the beach and you have the worst sunburn (Oh wait, thats just me, okay moving on then).

These next two page turners combined my passion for history and anthropology that made it impossible for me to put them down. Turn Right at Machu Picchu: Rediscovering the Lost City One Step At a Time by Mark Adams! And The Lost City of Z: A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon by David Grann! Turn Right at Machu Picchu by Adams is about an author who breaks away from his desk to follow the path Hiram Bingham III set out on to get a sense of the significance of Machu Picchu. It is a humorous tale of a person who had never slept in a tent before and how he adopted to life at high altitudes and no electric power. It will have you wanting to quit your cubicle job for living life hiking up the Andes. The Lost City of Z by Grann follows a journalist as he attempts to weave the truth about what happened to the explorer Percy Fawcett in his quest for this ancient civilization, El Dorado, rumored to be located in the Amazon Jungle. Grann like many before him become obsessed with the idea of the Lost City of Z and drudges through the Amazon himself looking for the truth about Fawcett and this rumored lost city. But side note whoever I let borrow these books, I want them back!! I need to reread them again!

Speaking of my love for anthropology… This next book isn’t a travel book per se, but I wasn’t able to put it down. This book would make a perfect plane read! Primates of Park Avenue by Wednesday Martin, is a humorous tale the follows Martin as she attempts to view the moms of Park Avenue through an objective anthropological viewpoint. Martin attempts to assimilate into the culture to understand the moms better, and in the process gets a little too involved. But it is kind of is a travel book, in that numerous people attempt to assimilate into a new culture when they travel. Plus to be honest I do the same thing to y’all on the plane!

Finally (for this blog) Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Coast Trail by Cheryl Strayed, I mean how can I not include this one? It is the story of Strayed after some heartbreak, self destruction, and a feeling of being lost, decides to take some time for herself. Strand decides to hike the Pacific Coast Trail which tested her physical and mental strength. It is an honest dialogue about solo travel, of course Strayed had to be a badass and go to an extreme. Or if you hate to read you can always watch the movie (but the book is better).

Okay this went way longer than I imagined, so I’m going to divide this in half, and on the next one I will talk about my favorite travel authors! But let me know what are your favorite travel books 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

